Wallabies legends and coaches slammed referees for allowing a controversial Lions try that sealed Australia’s series defeat in Melbourne.
Former Wallabies centre Morgan Turinui blasted the match officials for lacking the courage to penalise a dangerous clean-out in the build-up to the British and Irish Lions’ series-clinching try on Saturday.
RECAP OF THE CONTROVERSIAL MATCH- AND SERIES-DEFINING INCIDENT
With the second Test locked in a dramatic final minute, Lions fullback Hugo Keenan crossed to secure a 2-0 series lead at the MCG.
But Wallabies players and coaches fumed after flanker Carlo Tizzano appeared to be cleaned out illegally by Lions captain Jac Morgan.
Tizzano clutched his neck after the collision, suggesting clear head or neck contact, which should have triggered a penalty under World Rugby law.
Referee Andrea Piardi and TMO Eric Gauzins reviewed the incident but let the try stand, ruling there was no foul play involved.
FORMER WALLABIES BLAST ITALIAN REFEREE AS ‘WEAK’
Turinui, calling the match for Nine, accused the officials of cowardice and claimed the Wallabies had been robbed of a deserved result.
“The end is a penalty to the Wallabies, and the referees were too weak to give it,” Turinui said in frustration.
“They’ve got it wrong, and it’s cost the Wallabies the series. It’s a terrible decision that decides this match.”
Wallabies captain Michael Hooper echoed Turinui’s sentiment, saying the decision went against the letter of the law in the match’s dying moments.
“If that was minute one, it’s a penalty,” Hooper told Nine. “From minute one to 79, that’s the same law. Period.”
AUSTRALIA’S COACH AND CAPTAIN OFFER STRONG, BUT DIFFERENT REACTIONS TO CONTROVERSY
Wallabies head coach Joe Schmidt didn’t hold back either, directing attention to Law 9.20, which covers neck contact and player safety.
“Just look at Law 9.20,” Schmidt said post-match. “The referees didn’t do their duty to protect player welfare. They got it wrong.”
According to World Rugby’s own definition, clean-outs involving neck or head contact must be penalised, with potential yellow or red cards issued.
Tizzano’s reaction, grabbing his neck, pointed to clear contact above the shoulders, yet the officials chose not to act.
Wallabies No 8 Harry Wilson declined to comment directly but hinted at outrage, saying he wasn’t in the right emotional space to respond.
The decision has sparked immediate controversy and calls for greater consistency and courage from officials in high-stakes moments.
SHOULD THE WALLABIES HAVE RECEIVED A PENALTY OR NOT?
Let us know by leaving a comment below, or send a WhatsApp to 060 011 0211.
Subscribe to The South African website’s newsletters and follow us on WhatsApp, Facebook, X and Bluesky for the latest news.